Call Us On01858 410233
Exclusive newsletter promotions! You can be the first to receive our latest offers straight to your email inbox.

The Wolf and the Woodsman

The Wolf and the Woodsman
£14.99
Rated 0/5
[0 Reviews] | Write Review >
ISBN 9781529100730
Author Ava Reid
Number of pages 432
Cover Hardback
Publication Date 08/06/2021
In Stock Yes
A dark, evocative and unforgettable fantasy debut steeped in Hungarian history and Jewish mythology, perfect for fans of Naomi Novik and Katherine Arden.

Stories don't have to be true to be real... In her forest-veiled pagan village, Evike is the only woman without power, making her an outcast clearly abandoned by the gods.

When soldiers arrive from the Holy Order of Woodsmen to claim a pagan girl for the king's blood sacrifice, Evike is betrayed by her fellow villagers and surrendered. But when monsters attack the Woodsmen and their captive en route, slaughtering everyone but Evike and the cold, one-eyed captain, they have no choice but to rely on each other. Except he's no ordinary Woodsman - he's the disgraced prince, Gaspar Barany, whose father needs pagan magic to consolidate his power.

Gaspar fears that his cruelly zealous brother plans to seize the throne and instigate a violent reign that would damn the pagans and the Yehuli alike. As the son of a reviled foreign queen, Gaspar understands what it's like to be an outcast, and he and Evike make a tenuous pact to stop his brother. As their mission takes them from the bitter northern tundra to the smog-choked capital, their mutual loathing slowly turns to affection, bound by a shared history of alienation and oppression.

However, trust can easily turn to betrayal, and as Evike reconnects with her estranged father and discovers her own hidden magic, she and Gaspar need to decide whose side they're on, and what they're willing to give up for a nation that never cared for them at all.

'Gorgeously written and grimly real, The Wolf and the Woodsman quite literally took my breath away. It has the unsettling-but-compelling gore of Henderson's The Year of the Witching, the folkloric lilt of The Bear and the Nightingale, and the moral complexity of Seeing Like a State.


'I'm obsessed.' Alex E. Harrow, Hugo-award winning author of The Ten Thousand Doors of January'

'Assured and compelling throughout, and the worldbuilding is richly imagined, densely textured, and endlessly delightful.' Katherine Addison, author of The Goblin Emperor'

'Reid has crafted a story that is not only relevant for our times, but has timelessness about it that truly makes it shine. The Wolf and the Woodsman is not a book I will soon forget.' Genevieve Gornichec, author of The Witch's Heart

'Combining religion, magic, and evocative language, Ava Reid has created a daring fantasy world full of imagination and fierce heroics' Luanne G.
Smith, bestselling author of The Vine Witch

'The Wolf and The Woodsman is one hell of a ride. I couldn't put it down.' Greta Kelly, author of The Frozen Crown 'One of those transportative, delicious books that completely engrossed me for a full day.' Samantha Rajaram, Author of The Company Daughters

Customer reviews for this product

Write ReviewThere are no reviews for this product. You can be the first to leave a review...
  • Secure Credit Card Payments
  • Secure Credit Card Payments
  • Secure Credit Card Payments
  • Secure Credit Card Payments
  • Secure Credit Card Payments
  • Secure Credit Card Payments
PayPal Payments
Secure Credit Card Payments
  • Contact Us
  • Telephone: 01858 410233
    Fax Number: 01858 467141
  • Willen Limited
    Three Crowns Yard
    High Street
    Market Harborough
    Leicestershire
    LE16 7AF
Copyright © 2021 Willen Limited eCommerce development by Holbi