Call Us On01858 410233
Exclusive newsletter promotions! You can be the first to receive our latest offers straight to your email inbox.

The Sweetness of Water

The Sweetness of Water
£18.99
Rated 0/5
[0 Reviews] | Write Review >

BOOKER PRIZE 2021 LONGLIST BOOK

ISBN 9781472274373
Author Nathan Harris
Number of pages 368
Cover Hardback
Publication Date 15/06/2021
In Stock Yes
 **AN OBAMA SUMMER READING CHOICE AND NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER**'A fine, lyrical novel, impressive in its complex interweaving of the grand and the intimate, of the personal and political' ObserverAn extraordinary novel of life after slavery for readers of WASHINGTON BLACK, THE UNDERGROUND RAILROAD and DAYS WITHOUT END. In the dying days of the American Civil War, newly freed brothers Landry and Prentiss find themselves cast into the world without a penny to their names. Forced to hide out in the woods near their former Georgia plantation, they're soon discovered by the land's owner, George Walker, a man still reeling from the loss of his son in the war.

When the brothers begin to live and work on George's farm, the tentative bonds of trust and union begin to blossom between the strangers. But this sanctuary survives on a knife's edge, and it isn't long before the inhabitants of the nearby town of Old Ox react with fury at the alliances being formed only a few miles away . .

. '[A] highly accomplished debut' Sunday TimesReaders have been swept away by The Sweetness of Water:'Such a powerful, magnificent book; I urge you to read it. The comparisons with Colson Whitehead are justified' *****'A staggering debut and a story that stays with you' *****'Thought-provoking and moving .

. . a gripping and compelling novel that exposes flaws, mixed emotions and imperfect relationships, and yet it holds on with determination and hope.

It fully deserves a 5-star rating' *****'Outstanding . . .

A book that deserves widespread recognition and a wide audience' *****

Customer reviews for this product

Write ReviewThere are no reviews for this product. You can be the first to leave a review...
  • Secure Credit Card Payments
  • Secure Credit Card Payments
  • Secure Credit Card Payments
  • Secure Credit Card Payments
  • Secure Credit Card Payments
  • Secure Credit Card Payments
PayPal Payments
Secure Credit Card Payments
  • Contact Us
  • Telephone: 01858 410233
    Fax Number: 01858 467141
  • Willen Limited
    Three Crowns Yard
    High Street
    Market Harborough
    Leicestershire
    LE16 7AF
Copyright © 2021 Willen Limited eCommerce development by Holbi